Skip to content
Powered by Pagefind
English

Beasts

Chained Beasts: All 8 Beasts and Variants (Verified List)

All eight Chained Beasts from Steam achievements and XP variants: names and unlock notes only, with no undisclosed stats, passives, or tier rankings.

10/16/2026 1.0 Last updated: 10/16/2026 4 min read

FAQ

How many Beasts are in Chained Beasts?
Eight Beasts are confirmed by eight "Free as a …" win achievements plus Bestiary (Unlock all Beasts). Launch materials also describe unlockable variants per Beast via XP.
Which Beasts were added after the demo?
Rhino and Ibex joined as playable beasts in the updated demo from the 2026-05-29 Steam announcement "The Updated Chained Beasts Demo is LIVE!" (two new beasts, the Rhino and the Ibex). In the 2025-11 first demo, Rhino appeared only as Beastmaster Barca's mount.
Is there a Lioness Beast?
The Steam achievement list we read names Lion, not Lioness. Claims of extra beasts or alternate names from third-party sites are not confirmed by official sources we read.
Do Beasts have different stats or skills?
Announcements say variants change stats, abilities, and cosmetics, unlocked with XP during runs. Numeric tables and passive lists are not disclosed in those sources.
Which Beast is strongest?
Not disclosed. Without official stat sheets we do not rank Beasts or recommend a default pick beyond pointing to achievement goals and co-op party planning.

How many Beasts does Chained Beasts include?

Launch messaging describes 8 different beasts, each with unlockable variants that alter stats, abilities, and cosmetics. Variants unlock by earning XP during runs, not from a separate menu disclosed in our sources.

The Bestiary achievement (Unlock all Beasts) sets collection expectations. Individual beasts are confirmed by eight “Free as a …” win achievements on Steam. Rhino and Ibex became playable in the 2026-05-29 updated demo per the Steam announcement The Updated Chained Beasts Demo is LIVE!.

We do not publish power rankings, hidden unlock days, or passive skill lists—Featherweight has not released those tables in official sources we read.

Which beasts are confirmed by achievements?

Beast Achievement (official name) Notes
Lion Free as a Lion — Win a run as the Lion Named in achievement text only here
Eagle Free as an Eagle — Win a run as the Eagle
Bear Free as a Bear — Win a run as the Bear
Panther Free as a Panther — Win a run as the Panther
Ibex Free as an Ibex — Win a run as the Ibex Playable from the 2026-05-29 updated demo
Rhino Free as a Rhino — Win a run as the Rhino Playable from the 2026-05-29 updated demo
Monkey Free as a Monkey — Win a run as the Monkey
Wolf Free as a Wolf — Win a run as the Wolf

Achievement wording is from the Steam achievements list. Third-party claims such as Wolf unlocking on day three or extra beasts like Lioness are not confirmed by official sources we read; this table stays achievement-bound.

What do variants change?

Announcements state variants offer different stats, abilities, and cosmetics unlocked through XP earned while playing a beast. No official page in our sources lists variant names, branch trees, or numeric deltas.

When Featherweight publishes variant details or Codex entries with numbers, this page will add tables with sources cited—until then, variant sections remain descriptive, not numerical.

What do official visuals show about beasts?

Screenshots and trailers label players P1–P4 with distinct colors on health bars and nicknames; those colors are not consistent across every official shot we read. Beast-shaped gladiators appear often, but species names rarely show on screen except where achievements or boss text name them (for example Barca’s rhino mount in boss materials—not proof every horned mask is Ibex).

Four beast gladiators labeled P1–P4 stand around a campfire in a stone room on Day 1 with a sun icon and player HUD at the bottom.

Official Steam store screenshot. © Featherweight Games.

Two muscular gladiators in purple and green beast masks charge forward, linked by a chain at their waists in a painted cutscene.

Frame from the official Cinematic Trailer. © Featherweight Games.

Skill picker showing the On a Roll card and the message Can’t choose first skill during Night 1 with a teal beast celebrating.

Official Steam store screenshot. © Featherweight Games.

Cutscene masks above are purple and green; the skill screen shows a teal celebratory character. We describe colors rather than guessing species where the screen omits names.

How do Beasts interact with co-op and bosses?

Runs support 1–4 players online or locally with P1–P4 labels on verified UI. Official structure text describes three acts—Carthage, Germania, and Rome—with named bosses; see all bosses for encounters tied to those acts.

Co-op chain rules and player labels appear in the co-op and multiplayer guide. New players should start with the beginner guide before chasing Bestiary.

Why is there no beast tier list on this site?

Featherweight has not published comparative stats, DPS, or synergy charts for beasts or variants. Until first-party patches or store updates add numbers, we document names, unlock paths described in announcements, and achievement goals only.

Track collection progress via the achievements guide (Bestiary and each Free as a … entry).

Sources and verification

  • Sources: Steam achievements list; Featherweight Steam announcements and store page (8 beasts, XP variants); official Steam store screenshots and Cinematic / Gameplay Trailer frames.
  • Verified: 2026-10-16. Per-beast stats, passives, variant trees, and day-gated unlock claims from unofficial sites are omitted as not confirmed.
  • Images: Official Steam store screenshots and trailer frames, © Featherweight Games. Used for identification and commentary; removal on request.

Chained Beasts Guide is an unofficial fan site and is not affiliated with Featherweight Games.

Related Articles

Was this helpful?